…know the complete history of the Champions Trophy?

India has won the practice match this time as well. This time, Team India is looking at the potential of winning. Take a look at the history of the Champions Trophy starting in 1998, and know which team is the winner of that year?

May 29, 2017

Champions Trophy, which will be called the Mini World Cup of cricket, starts from June 1. All the teams are ready to land in the field, with their own warriors. India has won the practice match this time as well. This time, Team India is looking at the potential of winning. Take a look at the history of the Champions Trophy starting in 1998, and know which team is the winner of that year?

1. Wills International Cup (1998)

This was the first Champions Trophy tournament, which started from October 1998. 9 teams participated in this tournament. The format of this tournament was knock out and played on Bangladesh soil.

Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies and the Indian team reached the semi-finals.  South Africa and the West Indies collided in the final match. South Africa won the tournament by 4 wickets. African all-rounder Jacques Kallis made his highest of 8 wickets and became the Man of the Series.

2. ICC Knock Out (2000)

The Indian team’s performance in the ICC Trophy held on the African country of Kenya was fantastic. After winning their respective matches, four teams, New Zealand, Pakistan, India and South Africa decided to go for the semi-finals.

The match between New Zealand and Pakistan in the semifinals, in which Pak was defeated by 4 wickets. In the second semifinal, India had made a place in the final by defeating Africa by 95 runs. In the final, New Zealand and the Indian team were confronted, where the Kevy Team won the championship by 4 wickets. Talking about batting, the record for most runs in the entire tournament was in the name of Sourav Ganguly, where he scored a total of 348 runs. In bowling, India’s Venkatesh Prasad picked up the highest total of 8 wickets.

3. ICC Champions Trophy (2002)

It was a round robin tournament played on Sri Lankan soil, which was different from the knockout so far. A total of 12 teams took part in this tournament. The Netherlands team was the newest of them.

Beating their opponents teams, two teams, India and Sri Lanka, reached the final of the championship. The two teams competed in the Premadasa Stadium of Colombo. Due to heavy rains, the final of this tournament did not reach any conclusion. Both Sri Lanka and India were declared joint winners of the tournament.

4. ICC Champions Trophy (2004)

The fourth tournament of the Champions Trophy was played in England. A total of 12 teams participated in this entire tournament. In this tournament, the Indian team was eliminated before the semi-finals. Four teams reaching the semi-finals were Australia, England, Pakistan and the West Indies.

The two teams that made up to the final were England and West Indies. The two teams met in the Oval ground in London, in which the West Indies won by two wickets.

Caribbean player Ramnaresh Sarwan was the Player of the Series. While the highest number of 9 wickets in the bowlers, England all-rounder Andrew Flintoff picked up.

5. ICC Champions Trophy (2006)

The 5th Champions Trophy was played on the Indian soil. In the tournament held in 2006, a total of 10 teams took part. 4th to reach semi-final after the main round and knockout stage,  Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies were the teams.

Australia and the West Indies face the final match. Where Shane Watson won the Kangaroo team with his best performance. The title of Player of the Tournament was named Chris Gayle, while most 13 wickets taken by Jerome Taylor.

6. ICC Champions Trophy (2009)

The tournament, played in round robin format, is on African land. Teams of 8 countries were participating. England, Australia, Pakistan and New Zealand went to the semi-finals.

In the final match, New Zealand and Australia faced the match, where Australia won the Champions Trophy for the second time. Shane Watson made the century in this final and became the  player of the match.

7. ICC Champions Trophy (2013)

The last Champions Trophy was played on the year 2013. It was organized in England. A total of eight countries played in this entire tournament and 15 matches were played.

The 4 teams that made the semi-finals were South Africa, England, India and Sri Lanka. The final match took place in Birmingham, where England and India were face to face. Due to rain, the final match could only have been 20-20 overs. India beat England by 5 runs to win the trophy. Shikhar Dhawan becomes Player of the Series by making the highest run of the tournament. While the highest 12 wickets piked by the Indian bowler Ravindra Jadeja.

Get the best viral stories straight into your inbox!

Don't worry, we don't spam

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.